VISCOO 40-Inch Playpen
The adolescent who has learned to clear a 30-inch pen — 40 inches high, with a door panel and ball-topped posts

VISCOO Dog Playpen Outdoor, 8 Panels 40" High Heavy Duty Metal Dog Pen
The variant we link: 8 Panels · 40"One Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- The adolescent who has learned to clear a 30-inch pen — 40 inches high, with a door panel and ball-topped posts.
- Who should skip it
- You need this indoors on a hard floor. It is an outdoor-shaped pen and owners report the latch being stiff.
The verdict
The answer to a specific problem: your dog jumped the pen. Eight 25-by-40-inch panels, seven solid and one with a door, forming an octagon, square or rectangle, with rounded ball tops on the posts that the manufacturer says are there to protect paws. Forty inches is a meaningful jump from the 30-inch standard, and it is the height that buys you the adolescent months — the stretch where a dog is physically adult and mentally not. Owner feedback is genuinely mixed on build quality, with some calling it sturdy and others unimpressed, and several noting the gate latch is stiff. Take the mixed reviews at face value and treat this as a daytime, supervised enclosure in a yard rather than a fence you leave a dog in.
Drawbacks
- Owner reviews on build quality are genuinely mixed
- Gate latch reported as stiff to operate
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
64out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 60
- Stage fit
- 74
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy, adolescent stage.
What the listing says
- 40 inches clears the height most adolescents can jump
- Includes a door panel rather than lift-over-only access
- Reconfigures into several shapes
Specifications
- Height
- 40 inches
- Panels
- 8
- Build
- Heavy duty
- Use
- Outdoor
- Size
- Not stated
- Material
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: You need this indoors on a hard floor. It is an outdoor-shaped pen and owners report the latch being stiff.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$44.98
A cheap, reconfigurable second pen — octagon, square or rectangle, or opened flat to block a….
$46.19
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







