Carlson Pet Products · Playpens & Gates
Carlson Extra Wide Gate
Gating a kitchen or hallway when a cat or small dog still needs to get through — it has a built-in pet door

Carlson 29–36.5” Extra Wide Dog Gate with Small Pet Door, Walk-Through Pressure Mounted Metal Indoor Pet Safety Gate, Tested and Trusted by Pet Parents, American Designed, American Owned
The variant we link: 36.5”One Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- Gating a kitchen or hallway when a cat or small dog still needs to get through — it has a built-in pet door.
- Who should skip it
- The opening is 32 to 34 inches. The listing states this gate does not fit that band, with or without the extension.
The verdict
A gate is the thing you still own when the pen is long gone, and this is the useful version of one: 30 inches tall, fitting openings 29 to 36.5 inches with the included 4-inch extension, a 16.5-inch walk-through door with a one-touch latch, and a small pet door in the frame so a cat or a small dog can pass while the puppy stays contained. That last detail solves the specific household problem of a puppy who has discovered the cat's food. Pressure-mounted, which means it installs without drilling and — in Carlson's own instructions — must not be used at the top of stairs. Read the fit chart carefully before ordering: it explicitly does not fit openings between 32 and 34 inches, and that is the most common return reason.
Drawbacks
- Manufacturer states it does not fit 32-34 inch openings
- Pressure mount is not rated for the top of stairs
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
75out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 70
- Stage fit
- 85
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy, adolescent stage.
What the listing says
- Built-in small-pet door keeps the cat's routine intact
- One-touch latch you can work with an armful of puppy
- Pressure-mounted, so no drilling in a rental
Specifications
- Material
- Steel with pressure-mount pads
- Height
- 30 inches
- Number of Panels
- Single gate with extension
- Width Range
- 29.5–36.5 inches
- Mount
- Pressure-mount (not for top of stairs)
- Size
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: The opening is 32 to 34 inches. The listing states this gate does not fit that band, with or without the extension.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$44.98
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







