Regalo Easy Step Gate
A wide doorway at the bottom of the stairs — it spans 29 to 38.5 inches and stands 30 inches tall

Regalo Safety 29"-38.5" Easy Step Baby Gate, Bottom of Stairs & Doorways
The variant we link: 29"-38.5"One Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- A wide doorway at the bottom of the stairs — it spans 29 to 38.5 inches and stands 30 inches tall.
- Who should skip it
- You need it at the top of a staircase, or you want a latch you can work one-handed every time.
The verdict
Sold as a baby gate, used by an enormous number of dog owners, and priced accordingly. It expands from 29 to 38.5 inches with the included 6-inch extension and stands 30 inches tall, which owners specifically mention as tall enough to stop jumping. Regalo's own instructions are unusually emphatic on two points: the wall cups must be used, and it must never be used at the top of stairs. Take both seriously — a pressure-mounted gate that has not been installed with its cups is a gate that will eventually let go. The recurring owner complaint is the latch needing two hands, which matters more than it sounds when you are carrying a dog, a leash and a coffee. For a bottom-of-stairs or wide-doorway barrier at this price it is hard to argue with.
Drawbacks
- Not for the top of stairs, per the manufacturer
- Latch takes two hands, per multiple owners
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
83out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 84
- Stage fit
- 82
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy, adolescent stage.
What the listing says
- Spans up to 38.5 inches, wider than most pressure gates
- 30 inches tall — owners report it stops jumpers
- Very widely stocked and inexpensive
Specifications
- Material
- Steel, powder-coated white
- Height
- 30.5 inches
- Number of Panels
- Single gate with extension
- Width Range
- 29–38.5 inches
- Mount
- Pressure-mount (not for top of stairs)
- Size
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: You need it at the top of a staircase, or you want a latch you can work one-handed every time.
A different kind of thing — playpen rather than gate.
$46.99
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







