FDW 24-Inch 8-Panel Pen
The very first weeks with a small or toy-breed puppy, when 24 inches is still taller than they can think about

FDW | Dog Playpen | 24", 8 Panels | Heavy Duty Metal Pet Exercise Pen
The variant we link: 24" · 8 PanelsOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- The very first weeks with a small or toy-breed puppy, when 24 inches is still taller than they can think about.
- Who should skip it
- Your puppy will grow past about 20 pounds. You will be replacing this within two months.
The verdict
The cheapest way to fence off a corner of a room, and honest about what it is: 24 inches, eight panels, doorless at this height, with epoxy-coated wire and no tools needed. For a toy or small-breed new puppy that is genuinely enough, and the low walls make it easy to step over and lift a puppy out — which you will be doing constantly in the potty-training weeks. Owners specifically mention it holding escape-prone small dogs, and equally mention it breaking under rougher use. The honest framing is that this is a stage-one purchase for a small dog, not a pen you grow into: FDW makes the same pen at 30, 36, 42 and 48 inches, and if your puppy is going to be a big dog, start higher and skip the replacement.
Drawbacks
- 24 inches is outgrown fast by anything medium or larger
- Several owners report panels bending or breaking
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
71out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 72
- Stage fit
- 68
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy stage.
What the listing says
- Cheapest way to give a small puppy a safe floor
- Low walls mean you can lift the puppy in and out easily
- Assembles in minutes and folds flat
Specifications
- Panels
- 8
- Height
- 24 inches
- Position
- Budget
- Best for
- Puppies, small dogs
- Size
- Not stated
- Material
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: Your puppy will grow past about 20 pounds. You will be replacing this within two months.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$44.98
The default puppy pen — 16 square feet, a step-through door, and it clips onto a wire crate….
$46.99
A cheap, reconfigurable second pen — octagon, square or rectangle, or opened flat to block a….
$46.19
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







