MidWest Homes for Pets · Playpens & Gates
MidWest 30-Inch Exercise Pen
The default puppy pen — 16 square feet, a step-through door, and it clips onto a wire crate to make one bigger space

MidWest 30-Inch Exercise Pen, Single Door, 16 Sq Ft Play Area
The variant we link: 30-InchOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- The default puppy pen — 16 square feet, a step-through door, and it clips onto a wire crate to make one bigger space.
- Who should skip it
- Your puppy is already jumping 30 inches, or you need a barrier a determined adolescent cannot lean over.
The verdict
Eight 24-inch panels, 30 inches tall, giving a 16-square-foot square you can also fold into other shapes or clip onto a crate to extend it — the listing calls out exactly that use, and it is the one that matters most in the first month, because it turns a sleeping box into a bedroom with a floor. The door is a step-through with a slide-bolt latch, which you will appreciate at feeding time. Four ground anchors come in the box for outdoor use. Owner feedback splits predictably along dog size: people with small dogs and puppies call it sturdy, people with big adolescents call it flimsy, and both are right. Treat this as a stage-one and stage-two purchase and expect to graduate to a gated room rather than a taller pen.
Drawbacks
- 30 inches is not enough for an athletic adolescent
- Light enough that a leaning big dog can shift it
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
83out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 83
- Stage fit
- 83
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy, adolescent stage.
What the listing says
- Connects to a wire crate to make a combined sleep-and-play space
- Folds flat and moves room to room in one trip
- Ground anchors included for supervised outdoor use
Specifications
- Material
- E-coated steel
- Height
- 30 inches
- Number of Panels
- 8 (24 inches wide each)
- Floor Space
- 16 sq ft (4 ft × 4 ft square)
- Door
- Single door, slide-bolt latch
- Size
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: Your puppy is already jumping 30 inches, or you need a barrier a determined adolescent cannot lean over.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$44.98
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







