Amazon Basics · Playpens & Gates
Amazon Basics Octagonal Pen
A cheap, reconfigurable second pen — octagon, square or rectangle, or opened flat to block a room off

Amazon Basics Portable Foldable Octagonal Metal Exercise Dog Playpen, Indoor/Outdoor Pet Fence with Single Door, 8 Panels, Small, 30 Inches, Black
The variant we link: 8 Panels · Small · 30 Inches · BlackOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- A cheap, reconfigurable second pen — octagon, square or rectangle, or opened flat to block a room off.
- Who should skip it
- You have a bigger dog. Owners are clear this is a small-dog and puppy pen, not a barrier for 50 pounds of adolescent.
The verdict
Eight panels, 30 inches, two slide-bolt door latches and eight ground anchors, and the listing is upfront that it is rated for dogs up to 20 inches tall or small pets. What you are buying is flexibility: it configures as an octagon, a square or a rectangle, and folds flat in seconds to block off a doorway instead. Owners praise it for containing puppies and note it works well alongside house training, while the recurring complaints are the latches not always staying closed and the frame not being strong enough for bigger dogs. At this price it is reasonable to own two — one in the living room, one wherever you actually spend your evenings, which is where a young puppy needs to be. Amazon's own listing adds the obvious: do not leave pets unattended outdoors in it.
Drawbacks
- Rated for small dogs — not a barrier for a big adolescent
- Several owners report the latches working loose
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
76out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 77
- Stage fit
- 74
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy, adolescent stage.
What the listing says
- Reconfigures into several shapes or opens flat as a barrier
- Sets up and folds in seconds with no tools
- Cheap enough to own a second one for another room
Specifications
- Material
- Metal
- Shape
- Octagonal
- Portable
- Yes
- Use
- Indoor / outdoor
- Size
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: You have a bigger dog. Owners are clear this is a small-dog and puppy pen, not a barrier for 50 pounds of adolescent.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$44.98
← Back to the playpens & gates comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside playpens & gates — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$100.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 80,183
A pen holds the awake hours; the crate holds the sleeping ones. Most households end up running both.
$19 4.5 out of 5 stars · 65,796
A puppy left in a pen with nothing to chew finds something to chew, and it is usually the pen.
$34.95 3.9 out of 5 stars · 9,010
A penned area is where the pads go, so the two get bought in the same week.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the playpens & gates shelf — the same need, Protect.







