wagyears

PetSafe · Training Tools

PetSafe Teach & Treat

Rewarding at a distance — separation and settle work where you need the treat to arrive without you walking over

PetSafe Teach & Treat

PetSafe Teach & Treat Remote Reward Trainer, Up to 30 Yards

$190.99 3.5 out of 5 stars · 22 ratingsRepeat purchase

This is something you buy again. We have not worked out a verified monthly cost for this one yet, and would rather say so than divide a pack price by a guess.

Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.

Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.

Who it’s for
Rewarding at a distance — separation and settle work where you need the treat to arrive without you walking over.
Who should skip it
You are training basic manners face to face. A pouch of treats does that better and costs almost nothing.

The verdict

A niche tool with one genuinely hard problem to solve: how do you reward a dog for being calm somewhere you are not? Walking over to deliver a treat is itself the reward for many dogs, which contaminates exactly the behaviour you are trying to build. This dispenses kibble or small treats from up to 30 yards away on a remote, so a dog on their bed or in another room can be paid for staying put, and PetSafe includes tutorial videos led by a certified trainer. It is expensive and lightly reviewed — treat the ratings as thin evidence rather than an endorsement. Buy it if you are doing structured settle or alone-time work and hitting the delivery problem; skip it if your training happens two feet from your dog.

Drawbacks

  • Expensive, and the review base is small
  • Unnecessary for ordinary face-to-face training

Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.

WagScore

55out of 100
Owner satisfaction
35
Stage fit
68

Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at puppy, adolescent, adult, senior stage.

How the score is built →

What the listing says

  • Solves reward delivery at a distance for settle and alone-time work
  • Comes with trainer-led tutorial videos
  • Portable enough to move room to room

Specifications

Material
Plastic Housing
Type
Remote Treat Dispenser
Difficulty Level
Intermediate
Treat Compatible
Yes — Kibble & Small Treats
Best For
Remote reward-based training
Size
Not stated
Colour
Not stated
Pieces in the pack
Not stated
Dimensions (H × W × D)
Not stated
Weight
Not stated
First listed
Not stated

Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.

If this one isn’t right

Skip it if: You are training basic manners face to face. A pouch of treats does that better and costs almost nothing.

← Back to the training tools comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →

Guides that cover this

Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.

Gear

Pairs with

What tends to be needed alongside training tools — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".

The rest of this shelf

Everything else we currently recommend on the training tools shelf — the same need, Train.

Compare all training tools