PetSafe Happy Ride Ramp
Getting a stiff dog into an SUV or estate — 62 inches, folding to 31, rated to 150 lb and weighing only ten

PetSafe Happy Ride Folding Dog Ramp
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- Getting a stiff dog into an SUV or estate — 62 inches, folding to 31, rated to 150 lb and weighing only ten.
- Who should skip it
- Your dog is broad or nervous. Several owners find it too narrow for larger dogs.
The verdict
The default car ramp, and the numbers explain why: 62 inches of length folding in half to 31, ten pounds to lift, and a 150-pound weight rating. That combination is what makes it get used — a ramp you can pull out and deploy one-handed while holding a leash is a ramp that comes out every time, and a heavy one lives in the garage. High-traction treads, side rails and rubber feet, with a safety latch for the fold. Owners consistently report it working well for older dogs and being stable under an 80-pound dog, with the one recurring complaint being width for larger dogs. Measure your dog's stance and think about whether they will feel secure. Train it flat on the ground first, over a week, before you need it.
Drawbacks
- Narrow for broad or nervous dogs, per owners
- 62 inches is a shallow angle only for lower vehicles
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
64out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 51
- Stage fit
- 94
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at senior stage.
What the listing says
- Folds to 31 inches and weighs ten pounds — so it gets used
- Side rails and high-traction treads
- Rated to 150 lb, covering most dogs with margin
Specifications
- Material
- Plastic with textured non-slip surface
- Weight capacity
- Up to 150 lb
- Length
- 62 inches (folds to 31 inches)
- Folded For
- SUV cargo, hatchback, minivan
- Use Case
- Car entry/exit for senior or post-op dogs
- Size
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Model
- Not stated
- Manufacturer
- Not stated
- Part number
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: Your dog is broad or nervous. Several owners find it too narrow for larger dogs.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$32.29
A low sofa and a wide dog — two extra-deep 16-inch-wide steps at a six-inch rise, rated to….
$89.99
← Back to the ramps & stairs comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside ramps & stairs — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$69.95 4.3 out of 5 stars · 3,798
Ramps handle the slopes a dog can still walk; a lift handle covers the day it cannot.
$289.95 4.7 out of 5 stars · 5,902
Both exist to take load off the same joints, at opposite ends of the day.
$15.87 4.7 out of 5 stars · 78,319
The mechanical fix and the metabolic one are usually started in the same month.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the ramps & stairs shelf — the same need, Move.






