wagyears

ROYAL CANIN · Puppy Food

Royal Canin Large Puppy

A puppy whose adult weight will be 56 to 100 lb — controlled calcium and phosphorus through the long large-breed growth window

Royal Canin Large Puppy

Royal Canin Size Health Nutrition Large Puppy Dry Dog Food, 30 lb Bag

$109.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 8,900 ratingsRepeat purchase

This is something you buy again. We have not worked out a verified monthly cost for this one yet, and would rather say so than divide a pack price by a guess.

The variant we link: Large · 30 lbOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.

Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.

Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.

Suits these stages

Who it’s for
A puppy whose adult weight will be 56 to 100 lb — controlled calcium and phosphorus through the long large-breed growth window.
Who should skip it
Your dog will be small or medium. This is formulated for a specific adult-weight band, and the band is the point.

The verdict

The specific reason to buy a large-breed puppy formula is skeletal, not culinary. Royal Canin writes this one for puppies from two to fifteen months with an expected adult weight of 56 to 100 pounds, and the listing highlights controlled calcium and phosphorus for large-breed skeletal health — the nutrient management that matters when a dog is going to add sixty pounds in a year. It also states antioxidants for immune support and prebiotics for gut health. Thirty-pound bags, which suits the appetite that comes with the size. This is the mainstream veterinary-channel choice rather than a boutique one, and that is a feature: consistent formula, wide availability, and no transition drama when you restock. Confirm the timing of the eventual switch to adult food with your vet rather than the calendar.

Drawbacks

  • Wrong product if your dog will be small or medium
  • Thirty-pound bag needs sealed storage to stay fresh

Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.

WagScore

88out of 100
Owner satisfaction
87
Stage fit
92

Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at new puppy, puppy stage.

How the score is built →

What the listing says

  • Calcium and phosphorus controlled for large-breed growth
  • Written for a defined adult-weight range rather than "big dogs"
  • Widely stocked, so restocking never forces a transition

Specifications

Bag Size
30 lb
Protein Source
Chicken By-Product Meal
Life Stage
Large Breed Puppy (up to 15 months)
Grain-Free
No
Special Feature
Controlled calcium/phosphorus for large-breed skeletal health
Size
Not stated
Material
Not stated
Colour
Not stated
Pieces in the pack
Not stated
Dimensions (H × W × D)
Not stated
Weight
Not stated
First listed
Not stated

Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.

If this one isn’t right

Skip it if: Your dog will be small or medium. This is formulated for a specific adult-weight band, and the band is the point.

← Back to the puppy food comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →

Guides that cover this

Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.

Gear

Pairs with

What tends to be needed alongside puppy food — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".

The rest of this shelf

Everything else we currently recommend on the puppy food shelf — the same need, Nourish.

Compare all puppy food