SpotOn Nova GPS Fence
Containment on unfenced acreage — app-drawn GPS boundaries up to 32 acres, with trainer support included

SpotOn Nova GPS Dog Fence Collar, App-Controlled Wireless Fence
Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.
Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.
Suits these stages
- Who it’s for
- Containment on unfenced acreage — app-drawn GPS boundaries up to 32 acres, with trainer support included.
- Who should skip it
- Your dog is under 30 lb, or you are uncomfortable with a correction-based containment system. Discuss it with a trainer first.
The verdict
A different product from the rest of this list, and one to think about carefully. This is a GPS containment collar — you draw a boundary in an app and the collar cues the dog as they approach it. SpotOn state boundaries of any shape up to 32 acres, dual-band GPS for accuracy under tree cover, keep-out zones, and 1:1 certified trainer support included, which is the part that matters most: a containment collar used without training is a collar that punishes a dog for something they do not understand. They recommend it for dogs of 30 pounds and up, with a stated battery life around 22 hours. Owners praise the app and durability, and split on price and reliability over time. Our own preference is fencing and recall training where they are possible; discuss this with a trainer before buying.
Drawbacks
- Correction-based containment — talk to a trainer first
- Very expensive, with a 22-hour battery to manage daily
Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.
WagScore
66out of 100- Owner satisfaction
- 62
- Stage fit
- 77
Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at adolescent, adult stage.
What the listing says
- Boundaries of any shape, up to 32 acres, drawn in an app
- Dual-band GPS aimed at accuracy under tree cover
- Includes 1:1 certified trainer support
Specifications
- Coverage
- Up to 32 acres
- Boundary Type
- GPS-drawn custom shapes via app
- Connectivity
- GPS + GNSS satellite + Bluetooth
- Battery Life
- Up to 22 hours
- Minimum Dog Size
- 30 lbs recommended
- Size
- Not stated
- Material
- Not stated
- Colour
- Not stated
- Pieces in the pack
- Not stated
- Dimensions (H × W × D)
- Not stated
- Weight
- Not stated
- Weight capacity
- Not stated
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Model
- Not stated
- Manufacturer
- Not stated
- Part number
- Not stated
- First listed
- Not stated
Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.
If this one isn’t right
Skip it if: Your dog is under 30 lb, or you are uncomfortable with a correction-based containment system. Discuss it with a trainer first.
Our top pick on this shelf, if you would rather start from what we recommend first.
$55.30
The escape-prone adolescent — live nationwide location, geofenced escape alerts and a stated….
$129
← Back to the gps trackers comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →
Guides that cover this
Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.
Gear
Pairs with
What tends to be needed alongside gps trackers — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".
$59.99 4.6 out of 5 stars · 18,114
A tracker only reports where the collar is, so what it attaches to is part of the purchase.
$14.94 4.6 out of 5 stars · 18,587
Recall is the cheaper half of this problem, and the tracker is the insurance on it.
4Knines Rear Seat Cover (fold-down)
$99.99 4.7 out of 5 stars · 2,157
Escapes happen at doors and tailgates far more than they happen in fields.
The rest of this shelf
Everything else we currently recommend on the gps trackers shelf — the same need, Protect.



