wagyears

Frontline · Flea & Tick

Frontline Plus, 45-88 lb

The traditional monthly spot-on — kills adult fleas plus eggs and larvae, and is waterproof 24 hours after application

Frontline Plus, 45-88 lb

FRONTLINE Plus Flea & Tick Spot Treatment for Large Breed Dogs 45-88 lbs. (Purple) Count of 3

$40.98 4.4 out of 5 stars · 50,503 ratingsRepeat purchase

This is something you buy again. We have not worked out a verified monthly cost for this one yet, and would rather say so than divide a pack price by a guess.

The variant we link: 45-88 lbs · PurpleOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.

Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.

Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.

Suits these stages

Who it’s for
The traditional monthly spot-on — kills adult fleas plus eggs and larvae, and is waterproof 24 hours after application.
Who should skip it
Your dog is outside the 45-88 lb band. Buy the pack for your dog's actual weight, never a split dose.

The verdict

The long-standing over-the-counter spot-on, and the reason it stays relevant is the second active ingredient: fipronil kills adult fleas, and (S)-methoprene targets eggs and larvae, which is the half of the population living in your carpet rather than on your dog. Frontline state it protects for a full month, kills adult fleas, flea eggs, flea larvae, ticks and chewing lice, and is waterproof 24 hours after application. This pack is banded for dogs of 45 to 88 pounds. Owner feedback is genuinely divided on effectiveness, which reflects real regional resistance patterns as much as anything — some areas have flea populations that respond poorly. If it is not working where you live, that is a specific and useful thing to tell your vet rather than a reason to double up.

Drawbacks

  • Effectiveness reports vary by region — resistance is real
  • Monthly application is easy to forget

Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.

WagScore

74out of 100
Owner satisfaction
71
Stage fit
80

Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at puppy, adolescent, adult, senior stage.

How the score is built →

What the listing says

  • Targets eggs and larvae as well as adult fleas
  • Waterproof 24 hours after application
  • Widely available without a prescription

Specifications

Protection Duration
1 month per dose (6-dose pack)
Application Method
Topical (spot-on)
Dog Size
45–88 lbs
Active Ingredients
Fipronil, (S)-Methoprene
Water Resistance
Yes (after 24 hrs)
Flea & Tick Kill
Fleas, ticks, flea eggs & larvae
Size
Not stated
Material
Not stated
Colour
Not stated
Pieces in the pack
Not stated
Dimensions (H × W × D)
Not stated
Weight
Not stated
Weight capacity
Not stated
Warranty
Not stated
Model
Not stated
Manufacturer
Not stated
Part number
Not stated
First listed
Not stated

Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.

If this one isn’t right

Skip it if: Your dog is outside the 45-88 lb band. Buy the pack for your dog's actual weight, never a split dose.

← Back to the flea & tick comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →

Gear

Pairs with

What tends to be needed alongside flea & tick — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".

The rest of this shelf

Everything else we currently recommend on the flea & tick shelf — the same need, Protect.

Compare all flea & tick