wagyears

Millers Forge · Grooming & Nails

Millers Forge 743C Nail Clipper

One clean cut instead of three nervous nibbles — the plier clipper grooming shops have used for decades

Millers Forge 743C Nail Clipper

Millers Forge Stainless Steel Dog Nail Clipper, Plier Style 743C

$6.99

Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.

Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.

Who it’s for
One clean cut instead of three nervous nibbles — the plier clipper grooming shops have used for decades.
Who should skip it
Your dog already tolerates a grinder, or you would rather take a nail down a fraction at a time than commit to a cut.

The verdict

This is the orange-handled plier clipper you see in grooming shops, and its appeal is that it is only a blade and a lever. Millers Forge lists it as stainless steel, plier style, for all life stages — no safety stop, no light, no battery. The trade is real: a clipper with a guard is more forgiving of a bad guess, and a grinder lets you take the nail down in fractions. What a sharp plier clipper gives you is a single clean cut rather than a crush, and a crushed nail is what teaches a dog to hate having their feet held. If you are new to this, find the quick on a light-coloured nail first, take less than you think, and keep styptic powder in the same drawer. The cooperative-care practice matters more than the tool does.

Drawbacks

  • No safety guard — this tool assumes you know where the quick is
  • Dark nails hide the quick and this clipper offers no help finding it

Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.

What the listing says

  • A sharp plier cut is cleaner than a crush, and the crush is what makes dogs foot-shy
  • Stainless steel, with nothing to charge and nothing to replace
  • The pattern professional groomers have used for decades

Specifications

Size
One Size
Colour
Red / Silver
Dimensions (H × W × D)
0.5 in × 2.8 in × 8.0 in
Weight
0.14 lb
Material
Not stated
Pieces in the pack
Not stated
First listed
Not stated

Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.

If this one isn’t right

Skip it if: Your dog already tolerates a grinder, or you would rather take a nail down a fraction at a time than commit to a cut.

← Back to the grooming & nails comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →

Gear

Pairs with

What tends to be needed alongside grooming & nails — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".

The rest of this shelf

Everything else we currently recommend on the grooming & nails shelf — the same need, Protect.

Compare all grooming & nails