wagyears

Carsafe · Car Travel

CarSafe Crash Tested Harness

A dual-purpose harness under $60 — the maker states crash testing up to 32 kg / 70 lb, and it has walking clips too

CarSafe Crash Tested Harness

CarSafe Crash Tested Dog Safety Harness | Size M

$55.99 4.2 out of 5 stars · 1,063 ratings

The variant we link: Size MOne Amazon page often holds several sizes; check the selected option before you buy.

Amazon links earn us a commission; it doesn’t change what we recommend.

Price checked 2026-09-19T02:41:17.290920+00:00. Amazon prices change often — the listing is the truth.

Suits these stages

Who it’s for
A dual-purpose harness under $60 — the maker states crash testing up to 32 kg / 70 lb, and it has walking clips too.
Who should skip it
Your dog is over 70 lb. The stated rating does not extend past it, and neither should you.

The verdict

The stated claim here is specific and bounded, which is the most useful thing a product in this category can offer: CarSafe say it is "certified up to 32Kg / 70lbs." Take that literally — it is a claim about dogs up to 70 pounds and says nothing about a bigger dog. Within that band you get a padded, reflective chest piece that connects directly to the seatbelt, plus front and back leash rings so the same harness works for walks. Owners describe good stitching, comfort on long drives and sturdiness, and are consistent on two problems: the neck strap is not adjustable, and sizing runs small. Measure before ordering and size up if between. For most medium dogs this is the sensible middle option between a walking harness with a tether and a specialist car-only restraint.

Drawbacks

  • Neck strap is not adjustable, per multiple owners
  • Sizing runs small — measure and size up

Researched from the manufacturer’s listing, its published specifications and what owners report. We do not test products on dogs.

WagScore

63out of 100
Owner satisfaction
55
Stage fit
82

Owner satisfaction from the product's Amazon star rating and review count; stage fit from our own assessment of how well it suits a dog at adult, senior stage.

How the score is built →

What the listing says

  • Manufacturer states crash testing to 32 kg / 70 lb
  • Doubles as a walking harness with front and back rings
  • Padded, reflective chest piece for comfort on long drives

Specifications

Type
Crash-tested car harness
Stated rating
32 kg / 70 lbs (manufacturer)
Doubles as
Walking harness
Attachment
Seat belt
Size
Not stated
Material
Not stated
Colour
Not stated
Pieces in the pack
Not stated
Dimensions (H × W × D)
Not stated
Weight
Not stated
Weight capacity
Not stated
Warranty
Not stated
Model
Not stated
Manufacturer
Not stated
Part number
Not stated
First listed
Not stated

Specs come from the manufacturer listing and Amazon’s public product data. A field that reads “Not stated” is one we have not verified — not one the product lacks. We research and analyse; we do not test products on dogs.

If this one isn’t right

Skip it if: Your dog is over 70 lb. The stated rating does not extend past it, and neither should you.

← Back to the car travel comparisonNot sure what stage your dog is in? →

Guides that cover this

Where we wrote about this shelf at length — the reasoning behind the pick, not another version of it.

Gear

Pairs with

What tends to be needed alongside car travel — hand-picked adjacencies, not "customers also bought".

The rest of this shelf

Everything else we currently recommend on the car travel shelf — the same need, Protect.

Compare all car travel